About the Program

US DOT’s Entrepreneurial Training Women and Girls Internship Program

Entrepreneurial Training and Technical Assistance Women and Girls Program

–>White House Logo & DOT Logo

On July 26, 2010 U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood announced the expansion of the Women‘s Internship program to encourage young women to pursue careers in transportation.

The U.S. DOT Women’s Internship Program will now expand from one to all eleven Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization (OSDBU) regions, enabling young women from colleges and universities across the country to participate. Administered through the department’s 11 Small Business Transportation Resource Centers (SBTRC) which provide resources, technical assistance and outreach to all 50 states and U.S. territories, each SBTRC will be responsible for placing qualified female college students in transportation related internships throughout their regions.

The expanded program, based on a successful pilot with Spelman College that Secretary LaHood announced with Congressman John Lewis and OSDBU Director Neal in Atlanta in 2009, is part of a broader effort led by the White House to ensure that federal programs and policies take into account the distinct needs and concerns of women and girls.

Goals of the Program:

The goals of the program are to increase the participation of women in the transportation industry and prepare young women to become our nation’s future leaders. To accomplish these goals, the program will:

1. Identify the current situation for women participation in the transportation infrastructure industry, address those challenges, and seek to improve the status quo;

2. Educate young women on the exciting opportunities available in the transportation infrastructure industry and inspire them to enter the science, engineering, and technology fields;

Participating Colleges in the South Atlantic Region Include:

South Atlantic Region

  • Bennett College for Women
  • Bluefield State College
  • Elizabeth City State University
  • Johnson C. Smith University
  • Livingstone College
  • Norfolk State University
  • North Carolina A&T State University
  • North Carolina State University
  • Peace College
  • Shaw University
  • St. Augustine’s College
  • University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
  • University of North Carolina – Charlotte
  • University of North Carolina – Pembroke
  • West Virginia State University

**Application Deadline for Fall 2011 Participants is August 31, 2011**


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • June 2018
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan    

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

%d bloggers like this: